Music Director and Conductor

Theodore KucharMusic Director and Conductor, Reno Chamber Orchestra
Artistic Director, Nevada Chamber Music Festival
The multiple award-winning conductor Theodore Kuchar is the most recorded conductor of his generation, with a discography totaling over 120 compact discs for the Naxos, Brilliant Classics, Ondine and Marco Polo labels. Highlights of the 2016-17 include tours to the Far East with the Slovak Symphony Orchestra and Slovak Sinfonietta. In January-March, 2017 he will direct a 44-concert tour of North America with the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine under the auspices of Columbia Artists Management. He has served as Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of two of Europe’s leading orchestras, the Janácek Philharmonic Orchestra (formerly the Czech Radio Orchestra) (2005-2013) and the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine (1994-2004). In the 2011-12 season he commenced his tenure as Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela. He served as Music Director and Conductor of the Fresno Philharmonic Orchestra (2002-16) and the Reno Chamber Orchestra (2003- ). Since January 2013 he has served as Principal Conductor of the Slovak Sinfonietta. An avid chamber musician, he served as the Artistic Director of The Australian Festival of Chamber Music (1990-2006), and presently serves as the Artistic Director of the Nevada Chamber Music Festival since 2005. Read More…


Theodore Kuchar
Music Director and Conductor
Vahe Khochayan
Conductor Emeritus
Phillip Ruder
Concertmaster Emeritus
Andrea Lenz
Oboist Emerita
Marilyn Sevilla
Violinist Emerita

2017-18 Contracted Musicians


Ruth Lenz, Concertmaster
Sponsored by a Friend of Ruth Lenz and the RCO 

Margeaux Maloney, Associate Concertmaster
The Walter L. Dillard Memorial Chair

Carol Laube, Principal Second Violin

Olga Archdekin
The Kris and Patrick Ellingsworth Chair

Ivanka Dill

Hui Lim

Bruce McBeth
The Ursula and Richard Tracy Chair

Caryn Neidhold

Valerie Nelson


Dustin Budish, Acting Principal
The Penelope Kirk and Knute Knudson Chair

Tiantian Lan
The Philip Manwell Chair


Peter Lenz, Principal
The Cecilia Lee Chair

Barbara McMeen

Karen Stout-Gardner


Scott Faulkner, Acting Principal

Lani Oelerich
The Lillian and Steve Frank Chair

Nancy Hoffman


Mary Miller, Principal
The Kris and Patrick Ellingsworth Chair

Mary Ann Lazzari


Rong-Huey Liu, Principal
The Marsha and Les Cohen Chair

Jesse Barrett
The Lise Lenz Drake Chair


Jeannie Psomas, Principal
The Karen Penner-Johnson and Marc Johnson Chair


None contracted
Jimmie’s Chair


John Lenz, Principal
Remembering Jim Whipp

Peter Adlish


Paul Lenz, Principal
The Gaia Brown and Lloyd Rogers Chair


Carol Nelson Colwell, Acting Principal
The Penelope Kirk and Knute Knudson Chair


James Winn, Principal
The Cecile and Gordon Peters Chair


Marina Oster, Principal

Board of Directors

2017-18 Board of Directors

Knute Knudson, President
Jennifer Smith, First Vice President
Gail McAllister, Second Vice President
Fred Jakolat, Secretary
Patrick Ellingsworth, Treasurer
Lester H. Cohen, Past President
Trudy Larson
Peter Lenz
Mark MacDonald
Mark Miller
Jim Nichols
Carol Parkhurst
Karen Penner-Johnson
Tasha Reisz
Karen Stout-Gardner
Jill M. Winter



Chris Morrison
Executive Director

Bryan Wildman
Office and Ticket Manager

Kati Dayner
Operations Manager and Librarian

Korona Phelps

Dustin Budish
Personnel Manager

Quinlan Skinner
Stage Manager