Michael Morgan, longtime Music Director of the Oakland Symphony as well as Artistic Director of the Oakland Symphony Youth Orchestra and Music Director Emeritus of the Sacramento Philharmonic and Opera, will guest conduct a program that includes Schumann’s great Cello Concerto, with cellist Matthew Linaman (Pre-College Chamber Music Faculty at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and a former winner of the RCO’s College Concerto Competition!), and Richard Strauss’s Baroque-flavored music for the play Le bourgeois gentilhomme.

Saturday, February 16, 2019, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 17, 2019, 2:00 p.m.
Nightingale Concert Hall, UNR

Michael Morgan, guest conductor
Matthew Linaman, cello

Schubert: Overture in the Italian Style in C major, D. 591
Schumann: Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129
Strauss: Le bourgeois gentilhomme (Der Bürger als Edelmann), Op 60


Schumann’s Cello Concerto, with cellist Mstislav Rostropovitch and the National Orchestra of Paris conducted by Leonard Bernstein.

Michael Morgan photo
Michael Morgan
Michael Morgan became music director of the Oakland East Bay Symphony in 1990. He serves as artistic director of the Oakland Youth Orchestra, is Music Director Emeritus of the Sacramento Philharmonic and Opera, and is on the boards of Oaktown Jazz Workshops, the Purple Silk Music Education Foundation, and the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute. He teaches the graduate conducting course at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and is Music Director at the Bear Valley Music Festival in California. As a guest conductor he has appeared with most of America’s major orchestras, including the New York Philharmonic, National Symphony, Baltimore Symphony, Philadelphia Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony, Alabama Symphony, Houston Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, and San Francisco Symphony.

Michael Morgan was raised in Washington, D.C. where he attended public schools and began conducting at the age of 12. While a student at Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, he spent a summer at Tanglewood. There he was a student of Gunther Schuller and Seiji Ozawa and it was at that time that he first worked with Leonard Bernstein. During his final year at Oberlin he was also the Apprentice Conductor of the Buffalo Philharmonic under Julius Rudel. In 1980, he won first prize in the Hans Swarowsky International Conductors Competition in Vienna, Austria and became Assistant Conductor of the St Louis Symphony Orchestra under Leonard Slatkin. In 1986, Sir Georg Solti chose him to become the Assistant Conductor of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, a position he held for five years.

Matthew Linaman photo
Matthew Linaman
Matthew Linaman has performed both as a solo cellist and as part of Cello Street Quartet, an ensemble he co-founded, in some of the world’s most prestigious concert halls across the United States and Europe. Now focused on empowering young students through music, Matthew specializes in teaching budding cellists the foundations of technique and musical expression while cultivating curiosity and the drive to make an impact in the world. While a student of Jean-Michel Fonteneau at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, (SFCM), Matthew was the winner of the SFCM Concerto Competition, the Oakland Symphony Young Artist Competition and the Reno Chamber Orchestra Concerto Competition. In his third year, Matthew co-founded the Cello Street Quartet. Over their five years together, they gave over a hundred and fifty free public performances including extensive musical and educational outreach. In 2014, the Cello Street Quartet was honored to serve as musical ambassadors to Hungary, Kosovo and Russia through the US State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Matthew is currently a Pre-College faculty member at SFCM, coaching chamber music and teaching privately in his own studio. In 2017, he was a featured speaker on the TEDx stage at Herbst theater in San Francisco, has been featured on podcasts and has presented as a guest speaker at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music to speak on entrepreneurship in music.